Back to Models

Grok 4.3

xaixai/grok-4.3

xAI's most advanced flagship model β€” industry-leading non-hallucination rate, agentic tool calling, and instruction following. 1M token context, text + image input, configurable reasoning (none/low/medium/high), function calling, structured outputs.

Grok 4.3 is xAI's current flagship model, released on April 30, 2026 as the successor to Grok 4.20. xAI describes it as their most intelligent and fastest model ever, leading the industry in non-hallucination rate, agentic tool calling, and instruction following. The model ships with a 1-million-token context window, accepts text and images as input (and native video β€” an xAI first), and uses always-on chain-of-thought reasoning without a developer-facing mode toggle. Pricing was cut aggressively from Grok 4.20: input dropped 37.5% to $1.25/M and output dropped 83% to $2.50/M.

From a routing perspective, xai/grok-4.3 maps to the grok-4.3 API slug on xAI's platform. Notably, the grok-4.3 alias now absorbs a large number of legacy aliases β€” grok-4, grok-4-latest, grok-4-0709, grok-4-fast-reasoning, grok-4-1-fast-reasoning, grok-3, grok-3-mini, and more all currently resolve to Grok 4.3 on the xAI side. TheRouter maps xai/grok-4 to the pinned snapshot grok-4-0709 (the original July 2025 model) for stability; if you need the current xAI generation use xai/grok-4.3 explicitly.

Grok 4.3 introduces always-on reasoning: unlike prior Grok generations where reasoning was an opt-in parameter, 4.3 folds chain-of-thought directly into its base behavior. This means slightly higher time-to-first-token compared to non-reasoning models, but consistent multi-step quality without developer configuration. Third-party evaluations (Towards AI, May 2026) on long-horizon agentic tasks found Grok 4.3 winning 13 of 18 tasks against Claude Opus 4.7 at roughly 9Γ— lower cost per run. The Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index rates it at 53 β€” below GPT-5.5 (60) and Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview (57) but at a fraction of their price.

Best for
  • β€’ Default xAI choice for chat and coding β€” xAI's own docs recommend it for all chat and coding use cases, and it is the model currently behind grok-4, grok-4-latest, and grok-latest aliases
  • β€’ Long-context document and codebase analysis β€” 1M token context fits roughly 1,500 pages of text, a full mid-size codebase, or hours of meeting transcripts in a single request
  • β€’ Agentic tool-calling loops β€” over 300 Elo gain on GDPval-AA (agentic benchmark) vs Grok 4.20; well-suited for multi-step agent workflows using function calling
  • β€’ Video understanding tasks β€” native video input (mp4/mov/webm, up to 5 minutes, up to 1080p) for transcription, speaker segmentation, object tracking, and motion analysis without upstream preprocessing
  • β€’ Cost-efficient frontier tasks where Grok 4.20 was already in use β€” 37.5–83% price reduction makes migration from Grok 4.20 an immediate cost win with equivalent or better quality
Reach for something else if
  • β€’ Workloads where reasoning overhead hurts latency β€” always-on CoT raises TTFT; for latency-critical non-reasoning tasks consider cheaper options like xai/grok-3-mini ($0.45/$0.75) or Grok 4 Fast variants
  • β€’ Requests requiring knowledge past the training cutoff without search tools β€” no built-in knowledge of events beyond the cutoff; use xAI's server-side Web Search or X Search tools (call xAI API directly β€” these are not forwarded through TheRouter)
  • β€’ Top absolute intelligence benchmark scores β€” at 53 on Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, it sits behind GPT-5.5 (60) and Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview (57); route to those if you need peak frontier reasoning quality regardless of cost
  • β€’ Audio modality β€” Grok 4.3 is text+image+video input, text output only; for speech use xAI's separate Voice API (not exposed through TheRouter's chat/completions path)

How TheRouter serves this differently from the vendor

As the vendor operates it

xAI's grok-4.3 API slug now absorbs a large number of legacy aliases (grok-4, grok-4-latest, grok-4-0709, grok-3, grok-3-mini, and more); server-side Web Search and X Search tools are available natively on the xAI API but not forwarded through TheRouter; logprobs/top_logprobs are silently ignored for Grok 4.20 and newer.

On TheRouter

TheRouter serves xai/grok-4.3 through its OpenAI-compatible chat endpoint using TheRouter pricing from standard-models.yaml. xai/grok-4 on TheRouter is pinned to the grok-4-0709 snapshot (not the current grok-4.3 alias) for stability. xAI server-side Web Search and X Search tools are not forwarded. Embeddings and audio endpoints are not exposed for this model.

Context Length
1M
Max Output
66K
Input Priceper 1M tokens
$1.35/ 1M tokens
Output Priceper 1M tokens
$2.70/ 1M tokens

Modalities

textimage→text

Capabilities

Vision

Pricing Breakdown

TypeRate
Prompts under 200K tokens
Input$1.35 / 1M tokens
Output$2.70 / 1M tokens
Cached input$1.35 / 1M tokens
Prompts of 200K tokens or more
Input$2.70 / 1M tokens
Output$5.40 / 1M tokens
Cached input$0.432 / 1M tokens

Tiered pricing: when a request's prompt (input, cached tokens included) is 200K tokens or more, every token in that request is billed at the long-context rates. This model publishes no separate cached-input price for the base group: cached tokens there are billed at the base input rate (that group's "Cached input" row shows that rate).

Supported Parameters

temperaturemax_tokenstop_ptoolstool_choiceresponse_formatstop

Specifications

Release date (public API)2026-04-30docs.x.ai β†—verified
API model sluggrok-4.3docs.x.ai β†—verified
Key aliases (xAI side)grok-4.3-latest, grok-latest, grok-4, grok-4-latest, grok-4-0709, grok-4-fast-reasoning, grok-4-1-fast-reasoning, grok-3, grok-3-mini (and more)docs.x.ai β†—verified
Reasoning modeAlways on (chain-of-thought built in; no toggle required)codersera.com β†—verified
Native video inputNot publicly documented via retrievable vendor URLunknown
Native artifact generationNot publicly documented via retrievable vendor URLunknown
Training cutoffNot publicly disclosedunknown
Rate limits (xAI API)1,800 requests/min Β· 10,000,000 tokens/mindocs.x.ai β†—verified
Regionsus-east-1, eu-west-1, us-west-2docs.x.ai β†—verified
LicenseProprietaryverified

Benchmarks

BenchmarkDistributionScoreSource
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1.1 covering 9 evaluations (GDPval-AA v2, τ³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, HLE, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR). Measured and published by Artificial Analysis. Grok 4.3 sits below GPT-5.5 (60) and Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview (57) on this index, but at a fraction of their price. Costs $395 to run the full benchmark suite, ~20% lower than Grok 4.20.
53pointsartificialanalysis.ai β†—
GDPval-AA (agentic)
Measured by Artificial Analysis on GDPval-AA v2 (agentic real-world task benchmark). Grok 4.3 scores 1500 Elo, up 321 points from Grok 4.20's 1179. Surpasses Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview, Muse Spark, GPT-5.4 mini (xhigh), and Kimi K2.5, but still trails GPT-5.5 (xhigh) by 276 Elo points.
1500 Elo (+321 vs Grok 4.20 at 1179)artificialanalysis.ai β†—
AA-Omniscience (factual accuracy)
Measured by Artificial Analysis. Grok 4.3 gains 8 points on AA-Omniscience Accuracy versus Grok 4.20, but non-hallucination rate slipped 8 points in the same suite β€” Grok 4.20 still leads xAI's lineup on AA-Omniscience Non-Hallucination Rate.
+8 points accuracy vs Grok 4.20artificialanalysis.ai β†—
Long-horizon agentic tasks (community eval)
A community evaluation by Towards AI (May 2026) claimed 13/18 tasks won versus Claude Opus 4.7 at ~9Γ— lower cost. This is not a standardised benchmark and could not be independently verified from a retrievable official source.
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”

API Usage Examples

Use the global api.therouter.ai endpoint shown below for new integrations; the legacy China accelerated endpoint is retired.

cURL
curl https://api.therouter.ai/v1/chat/completions   -H "Content-Type: application/json"   -H "Authorization: Bearer $THE_ROUTER_API_KEY"   -d '{
    "model": "xai/grok-4.3",
    "messages": [
      {"role": "user", "content": "Summarize the key points from this input."}
    ]
  }'

Chat completion

cURL
curl https://api.therouter.ai/v1/chat/completions \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $THEROUTER_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "model": "xai/grok-4.3",
    "messages": [{"role": "user", "content": "Explain the key differences between Rust and Go for a backend service."}]
  }'

More from xai

Similar models

Cross-provider sibling models

News & changes

2026-04-30

Grok 4.3 launches on the public API

xAI quietly released Grok 4.3 to the public API on April 30, 2026 with no press release or model card. The release was identified through API logs and quiet documentation updates. Key additions: 1M token context, native video input, always-on reasoning, native PDF/PowerPoint/spreadsheet generation, and a price cut of 37.5–83% versus Grok 4.20.

re-authored by TheRoutertowardsai.net β†—
2026-04-17

Grok 4.3 beta opens on grok.com and SuperGrok apps

xAI began rolling out Grok 4.3 in beta to grok.com users and SuperGrok mobile subscribers on April 17, 2026, two weeks before the public API launch.

re-authored by TheRoutercodersera.com β†—

Frequently asked

Is reasoning always on in Grok 4.3? Can I disable it?

Yes β€” chain-of-thought reasoning is always on in Grok 4.3 and cannot be disabled through the API. This is a design change from Grok 4.20, where reasoning was a configurable parameter. The benefit is consistent multi-step quality without configuration; the trade-off is higher time-to-first-token (~11.6 seconds measured) compared to non-reasoning models. If your workload is latency-critical and does not need deep reasoning, route to xai/grok-3-mini or a fast non-reasoning xAI variant instead.

re-authored by TheRoutercodersera.com β†—
What happened to grok-3, grok-4, and the other legacy aliases?

As of May 2026, xAI has consolidated a very large number of aliases β€” including grok-3, grok-3-mini, grok-4, grok-4-latest, grok-4-0709, grok-4-fast-reasoning, grok-4-1-fast-reasoning, and more β€” to all resolve to grok-4.3. This means if you call grok-4 directly on the xAI API, you get Grok 4.3, not the original July 2025 Grok 4. TheRouter preserves the original model behaviour: xai/grok-4 on TheRouter is pinned to the grok-4-0709 snapshot. Use xai/grok-4.3 explicitly on TheRouter if you want the current flagship.

re-authored by TheRouterdocs.x.ai β†—
How does Grok 4.3 compare to Grok 4.20?

Grok 4.3 (April 2026) improves on Grok 4.20 (March 2026) on several fronts: context doubled to 1M tokens, native video input added, +8 points factual accuracy (AA-Omniscience), +300 Elo on agentic tool-use (GDPval-AA), and prices cut 37.5–83%. The trade-off: non-hallucination rate dipped 8 points according to Artificial Analysis; Grok 4.20 still leads on that specific metric. Always-on reasoning also means higher TTFT in 4.3 vs Grok 4.20's configurable reasoning modes.

re-authored by TheRoutercodersera.com β†—
Does Grok 4.3 support video input via TheRouter?

Grok 4.3 supports native video input (mp4/mov/webm, up to 5 minutes, 1080p) as a new modality. Whether TheRouter's proxy path forwards video input to the xAI API is subject to TheRouter's multimodal support status. Check TheRouter's model page or API documentation for the current video support status. For confirmed video support, calling the xAI API directly is the most reliable path.

re-authored by TheRouter
Fact ledger β€” every claim on this page traces here
sourceURLretrieved
Release date (public API)docs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03verified
API model slugdocs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03verified
Key aliases (xAI side)docs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03verified
Reasoning modecodersera.com β†—2026-06-03verified
Native video inputβ€”β€”unknown
Native artifact generationβ€”β€”unknown
Training cutoffβ€”β€”unknown
Rate limits (xAI API)docs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03verified
Regionsdocs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03verified
Licenseβ€”β€”verified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Indexartificialanalysis.ai β†—2026-08-19verified
GDPval-AA (agentic)artificialanalysis.ai β†—2026-08-19verified
AA-Omniscience (factual accuracy)artificialanalysis.ai β†—2026-08-19verified
Long-horizon agentic tasks (community eval)pub.towardsai.net β†—2026-06-03unknown
Grok 4.3 launches on the public APItowardsai.net β†—2026-06-03verified
Grok 4.3 beta opens on grok.com and SuperGrok appscodersera.com β†—2026-06-03verified
Is reasoning always on in Grok 4.3? Can I disable it?codersera.com β†—2026-06-03to verify
What happened to grok-3, grok-4, and the other legacy aliases?docs.x.ai β†—2026-06-03to verify
How does Grok 4.3 compare to Grok 4.20?codersera.com β†—2026-06-03to verify
Help & contact