Back to Models

Grok 4.20 Reasoning

xaixai/grok-4.20-reasoning

xAI's flagship model (March 2026) with 2M token context window and deep reasoning. Best for complex multi-step tasks, analysis, and research with function calling and structured outputs.

Grok 4.20 Reasoning is xAI's reasoning-enabled Grok 4.20 API variant, pinned on TheRouter as xai/grok-4.20-reasoning and routed to the March 2026 grok-4.20-0309-reasoning snapshot. It keeps the Grok 4.20 family's 2-million-token context window and text+image input while enabling explicit chain-of-thought style reasoning for complex logic, math, coding, and long-horizon agent workflows.

In production routing, this model is the depth-first member of the Grok 4.20 line. Use it when you need the 2M context window plus stronger reasoning than the non-reasoning speed variant can provide. BenchLM's July 25, 2026 profile lists Grok 4.20 as a proprietary reasoning model with a 53.92/100 public score, 1474 Chatbot Arena Elo, and published evidence across agentic, coding, reasoning, knowledge, and multimodal categories.

The trade-off is latency and token volume. Reasoning mode improves hard-task accuracy but can spend extra hidden or visible reasoning tokens before the final answer, so it is not the cheapest choice for simple extraction, classification, or templated copy. For new xAI integrations that do not require 2M context, Grok 4.3 is often the newer default; for pinned long-context reasoning, Grok 4.20 Reasoning remains the safer stable target.

Best for
  • β€’ Long-context reasoning over large corpora β€” the 2M-token window can hold full repositories, litigation bundles, transcript archives, or research packs while reasoning mode handles cross-document dependencies
  • β€’ Complex coding and debugging β€” BenchLM lists SWE-bench Verified 76.7% and LiveCodeBench Pro 74.2% for the Grok 4.20 reasoning family; use it for multi-file fixes where context breadth matters
  • β€’ Agentic workflows with tool calls β€” explicit reasoning plus function calling helps plan multi-step actions, inspect tool results, and recover from partial failures
  • β€’ Multimodal document and screenshot analysis β€” text+image input with reasoning is useful for charts, scanned documents, UI screenshots, and grounded visual QA
  • β€’ Research and analytical drafts that must expose assumptions β€” reasoning mode is better suited than the non-reasoning variant for structured arguments, risk analysis, and evidence synthesis
Reach for something else if
  • β€’ Simple high-volume extraction or classification β€” reasoning overhead is usually wasted; route to xai/grok-4.20-non-reasoning or xai/grok-4-fast-non-reasoning when latency and unit cost dominate
  • β€’ Latency-critical chat UX β€” reasoning can increase time-to-first-token; use the non-reasoning variant for fast assistant turns unless quality failures are costly
  • β€’ Requests requiring native video or audio input β€” Grok 4.20 Reasoning supports text and image input; for newer xAI video capability compare xai/grok-4.3, while speech uses xAI's separate voice APIs
  • β€’ Workloads that only need the newest xAI generation β€” if 1M context is enough, xai/grok-4.3 may be a better current default with newer routing and lower listed upstream price

How TheRouter serves this differently from the vendor

As the vendor operates it

xAI exposes Grok 4.20 Reasoning as a native xAI API model with xAI's pricing tiers, reasoning-token accounting, server-side tools, and the documented caveat that logprobs/top_logprobs are silently ignored for Grok 4.20 and newer.

On TheRouter

TheRouter serves the pinned xai/grok-4.20-reasoning route through its OpenAI-compatible chat endpoint with TheRouter pricing from standard-models.yaml; unsupported media-generation, audio, and embeddings endpoints are not exposed for this model.

Context Length
2M
Max Output
66K
Input Priceper 1M tokens
$1.35/ 1M tokens
Output Priceper 1M tokens
$2.70/ 1M tokens

Modalities

textimage→text

Capabilities

Vision

Pricing Breakdown

TypeRate
Prompts under 200K tokens
Input$1.35 / 1M tokens
Output$2.70 / 1M tokens
Cached input$1.35 / 1M tokens
Prompts of 200K tokens or more
Input$2.70 / 1M tokens
Output$5.40 / 1M tokens
Cached input$0.432 / 1M tokens

Tiered pricing: when a request's prompt (input, cached tokens included) is 200K tokens or more, every token in that request is billed at the long-context rates. This model publishes no separate cached-input price for the base group: cached tokens there are billed at the base input rate (that group's "Cached input" row shows that rate).

Supported Parameters

temperaturemax_tokenstop_ptoolstool_choiceresponse_formatstop

Specifications

Release date (public API)Not publicly disclosedunknown
API model slug (pinned)grok-4.20-0309-reasoningdocs.x.ai β†—verified
Reasoning modeConfigurable reasoning is supported on current xAI reasoning models; xAI documents reasoning tokens and the reasoning.effort control, but does not publish a separate Grok 4.20 Reasoning model card.docs.x.ai β†—verified
Context window2,000,000 tokensdocs.x.ai β†—verified
Max completion tokens65,536 tokens on TheRouterverified
Input modalitiesText, imagedocs.x.ai β†—verified
Output modalitiesTextverified
TheRouter pricing$3.00 input / $9.00 output per 1M tokens on TheRouterverified
Upstream list pricingShort context: $1.25 input / $0.20 cached / $2.50 output per 1M tokens; long context (β‰₯200k prompt tokens): $2.50 input / $0.40 cached / $5.00 output per 1M tokensdocs.x.ai β†—verified
Function calling / toolsSupportedverified
Structured outputs (response_format)Supported (JSON mode)verified
Knowledge cutoffNot publicly disclosedunknown
LicenseProprietaryverified

Benchmarks

BenchmarkDistributionScoreSource
BenchLM public score
BenchLM profile for Grok 4.20 Beta Reasoning; data verified July 25, 2026. BenchLM marks the global score provisional because coverage is 19 of 369 tracked benchmarks.
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
Chatbot Arena Elo β€” Text Overall
BenchLM reports Β±4.7 confidence interval from 26,822 votes.
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
SWE-bench Verified
BenchLM secondary exact row for the Grok 4.20 reasoning family.
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
LiveCodeBench Pro
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
Terminal-Bench 2.0
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
DeepSearchQA
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
ARC-AGI-2
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
GPQA Diamond
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
HLE without tools
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
MMMU-Pro
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”
CharXiv Reasoning
β€”Not publicly disclosedβ€”

API Usage Examples

Use the global api.therouter.ai endpoint shown below for new integrations; the legacy China accelerated endpoint is retired.

cURL
curl https://api.therouter.ai/v1/chat/completions   -H "Content-Type: application/json"   -H "Authorization: Bearer $THE_ROUTER_API_KEY"   -d '{
    "model": "xai/grok-4.20-reasoning",
    "messages": [
      {"role": "user", "content": "Summarize the key points from this input."}
    ]
  }'

Reasoning chat

Use the standard OpenAI-compatible chat completions endpoint. Keep the model id pinned to xai/grok-4.20-reasoning when you need stable Grok 4.20 reasoning behavior instead of a moving latest alias.

cURL
curl https://api.therouter.ai/v1/chat/completions \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $THEROUTER_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "model": "xai/grok-4.20-reasoning",
    "messages": [
      {"role": "system", "content": "Reason carefully, cite uncertainty, and give the shortest defensible answer."},
      {"role": "user", "content": "Compare these two migration plans and identify the hidden failure modes."}
    ],
    "reasoning": {"effort": "high"}
  }'

More from xai

Similar models

Cross-provider sibling models

News & changes

2026-07-24

BenchLM verifies Grok 4.20 Reasoning profile with 19 public benchmark rows

BenchLM's July 25, 2026 profile lists Grok 4.20 as a proprietary reasoning model with 2M context, 1474 Chatbot Arena Elo, and evidence across coding, agentic, reasoning, knowledge, and multimodal tasks. The page also marks the model as superseded by newer Grok generations for users who do not need the 2M context window.

re-authored by TheRouterbenchlm.ai β†—
2026-07-09

xAI docs list Grok 4.20 pricing and compatibility caveats

xAI's models and pricing pages list grok-4.20-0309-reasoning with 1M context, short-context prices of $1.25 input / $2.50 output per 1M tokens, long-context prices of $2.50 / $5.00, and the caveat that logprobs/top_logprobs are ignored for Grok 4.20 and newer.

re-authored by TheRouterdocs.x.ai β†—

Frequently asked

When should I choose xai/grok-4.20-reasoning instead of xai/grok-4.20-non-reasoning?

Choose the reasoning variant when the task needs multi-step planning, mathematical or scientific reasoning, code repair, tool-call decisions, or cross-document synthesis. Choose the non-reasoning variant when the task is simple, latency-sensitive, or high-volume β€” for example extraction, classification, summarisation, or templated transformations where reasoning tokens do not buy much accuracy.

re-authored by TheRouterbenchlm.ai β†—
Is Grok 4.20 Reasoning cheaper or more expensive than the non-reasoning variant?

The listed per-token price on TheRouter is the same family rate as Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning ($3.00 input / $9.00 output per 1M tokens on TheRouter). The effective cost per completed task can still be higher because reasoning mode may generate additional reasoning tokens and take longer before producing the final answer.

re-authored by TheRouter
Does Grok 4.20 Reasoning support OpenAI SDK calls?

Yes. Through TheRouter, call https://api.therouter.ai/v1/chat/completions with the OpenAI SDK, set baseURL to TheRouter, and use model: "xai/grok-4.20-reasoning". The model supports chat, streaming, tool calls, structured outputs, image input, and TheRouter's standard reasoning option; it is not used for embeddings, audio, image generation, or video generation.

Should new xAI workloads use Grok 4.20 Reasoning or Grok 4.3?

Use Grok 4.3 when you want the newer xAI flagship and 1M context is enough. Keep Grok 4.20 Reasoning when the 2M context window, a pinned March 2026 snapshot, or compatibility with an existing Grok 4.20 integration is the decisive requirement.

re-authored by TheRouterbenchlm.ai β†—
Fact ledger β€” every claim on this page traces here
sourceURLretrieved
Release date (public API)β€”β€”unknown
API model slug (pinned)docs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
Reasoning modedocs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
Context windowdocs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
Max completion tokensβ€”β€”verified
Input modalitiesdocs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
Output modalitiesβ€”β€”verified
TheRouter pricingβ€”β€”verified
Upstream list pricingdocs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
Function calling / toolsβ€”β€”verified
Structured outputs (response_format)β€”β€”verified
Knowledge cutoffβ€”β€”unknown
Licenseβ€”β€”verified
BenchLM public scorebenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
Chatbot Arena Elo β€” Text Overallbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
SWE-bench Verifiedbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
LiveCodeBench Probenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
Terminal-Bench 2.0benchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
DeepSearchQAbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
ARC-AGI-2benchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
GPQA Diamondbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
HLE without toolsbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
MMMU-Probenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
CharXiv Reasoningbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26unknown
BenchLM verifies Grok 4.20 Reasoning profile with 19 public benchmark rowsbenchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26verified
xAI docs list Grok 4.20 pricing and compatibility caveatsdocs.x.ai β†—2026-07-31verified
When should I choose xai/grok-4.20-reasoning instead of xai/grok-4.20-non-reasoning?benchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26to verify
Should new xAI workloads use Grok 4.20 Reasoning or Grok 4.3?benchlm.ai β†—2026-07-26to verify
Help & contact